Git FAQ

Frequently asked questions around Git and Version Control.

How to Delete a Repository on GitHub

After working on some coding projects for some time, your GitHub account might be flooded with repositories. Here's a short guide on how to delete a remote repository on GitHub.com.

The Git Cheat Sheet

No need to remember all those commands and parameters: get our popular "Git Cheat Sheet" - for free!


Things to Check before Deleting

Before you go and delete a repository, it makes sense to run through a little checklist:

1. Teamwork: you might not need the repository anymore, but in case you're working in a team, you should make sure that your teammates also don't need it anymore!
2. Permissions: do you have sufficient permissions to delete the repository? You should be either an organization owner or have admin permissions for the repository.
3. Sure? Lastly, double-check that you have the right repository and that you really want to get rid of it. When it's gone, it's gone! 😱

Deleting a Repository

When you've made the decision to delete, you should open the "Settings" page for the repository. There, scroll down all the way to the bottom and you'll find the button "Delete this repository".

Learn More

About Us

As the makers of Tower, the best Git client for Mac and Windows, we help over 100,000 users in companies like Apple, Google, Amazon, Twitter, and Ebay get the most out of Git.

Just like with Tower, our mission with this platform is to help people become better professionals.

That's why we provide our guides, videos, and cheat sheets (about version control with Git and lots of other topics) for free.