Deleting a Submodule

When deleting a Submodule, Tower by default performs two main tasks:

  1. The Submodule's working files are removed from your main repository.
  2. The Submodule's configuration is cleanly removed (from the various places that Git stores it in).


In the Delete Submodule dialog, however, the Keep Working Tree option allows you to retain the Submodule's working files in your main project - thereby transforming them into "plain" project files instead of a Submodule Git repository.